Will Beasley, a 2019 College of Law graduate, honors Donovan Justice with the Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz Tom Hodge and Bob Worthington Student Leadership Award.

Annual Honors Banquet recognizes outstanding students, staff, faculty

The College of Law celebrated the outstanding achievements of students, staff and faculty on Jan. 30 at the college’s Honors Banquet and Awards Program.


Knoxville Auxiliary to the Tennessee Bar Association Award
Kaleb Byars

Herbert L. Davis Memorial Trust Fund Awards
Brandon Allen and Alexander Brent

Merchant & Gould Excellence in Intellectual Property Awards
Arvis Blakey and Clint Pitts

Edward & Elizabeth Harshfield Awards for Excellence in Civil Procedure
Kaleb Byars and Eric Salama

James R. & Nell W. Cunningham Award for Legal Research
Kaleb Byars

James R. & Nell W. Cunningham Award for Best First-Year Brief
Rebecca Hanniford

James R. & Nell W. Cunningham Award for Excellence in Legal Writing 
Michael Caskey

Charles H. Miller Excellence in Civil Advocacy Award
Will Beasley

James L. Powers III Excellence in Criminal Advocacy Awards
Avery Shell, Alijah Lovingfoss, and Taylor Ward

Transactional Clinic Award
Charlotte Houser

Jerry P. Black Jr. Student Clinic Attorney Awards
Brandon Fersten and Dillon Zinser

Tennessee Attorney General’s Award for Excellence in Trial Advocacy
Sarah Addie Martin

International Academy Of Trial Lawyers Trial Advocacy Award
Sean Bright

Robert E. Pryor Award for Excellence in Advocacy
Andrew Cox

National Association of Women Lawyers Award
Savannah Darnell

Susan B. Anthony Award
Anne Batcheller

Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz Tom Hodge and Bob Worthington Student Leadership Award
Donovan Justice

Frank Benson Creekmore Memorial Award
Clint Pitts

William M. Leech Jr. Public Service Prize
Kristen Anderson

 The Stanuszek Law Group, PLLC Awards
Elizabeth Peterson and Dave Hall

Jerry V. Smith Evidence Award
Kaleb Byars


College of Law Staff Awards for Extraordinary Service
Leslie Principe, Lori Thomas, Ellen Cole and Lisa Holden

Marilyn V. Yarbrough Faculty Award for Writing Excellence
Lucy Jewel

W. Allen Separk Faculty Scholarship Award
Ben Barton

Wilkinson Junior Research Professorship
Brad Areheart

Carden Outstanding Faculty Award for Scholarship
Maurice Stucke

Carden Outstanding Faculty Award for Service
Teri Dobbins Baxter

Tom & Elizabeth Fox Faculty Award For Service To The Bench & Bar
Paula Schaefer

College of Law Outstanding Adjunct Teacher Award
Jamie Ballinger

Harold C. Warner Outstanding Teacher Award
Joy Radice