Employees, students honored at annual awards ceremony

University of Tennessee College of Law students, staff, faculty, and recent graduates were recognized this month for their scholarship, service, and overall excellence. 

In an awards ceremony Friday, Feb. 22, the following individuals received awards:


  • Tanner Hamilton: Knoxville Auxiliary to the Tennessee Bar Association Award, for the highest scholastic average as a first-year law student
  • Elijah Lovingfoss: Herbert L. Davis Memorial Trust Fund Award for the highest grade point average as a second-year law student; and the Robert E. Pryor Award Of Excellence In Advocacy
  • Derek Scott: Herbert L. Davis Memorial Trust Fund Award for outstanding academic progress as a second-year law student
  • Elizabeth Harwood: Merchant & Gould Excellence In Intellectual Property Award
  • Gavin Smelcer: Harshfield Award for Excellence In Civil Procedure
    Hannah Haley: Cunningham Legal Research Award for exemplary performance in legal research as a first-year law student
  • Dixon Babb: Cunningham First-Year Best Brief Award
  • William Beasley: Cunningham Excellence in Legal Writing
  • Brad Finney and Andrew Schrack: Jerry P. Black, Jr. Student Clinic Attorney Award
  • Erika Ivey: Jerry V. Smith Evidence Award for outstanding promise and expertise in evidence.
  • Chris Davis: Tennessee Attorney General’s Trial Advocacy Award
  • Evan Rothey: International Academy Of Trial Lawyers Award
  • Lauren Hughes: National Association Of Women Lawyers Award for her commitment to enhancing the reputation of women in society and the profession
  • Ri’charda Anderson: Susan B. Anthony Award for academic achievement, and a commitment to enhancing the legal rights of women
  • Clint Pitts: Frank Benson Creekmore Memorial Award for future promise as practitioners of law in Tennessee
  • Tyler Sims: William M. Leech, Jr. Public Service Prize for uncommon commitment to public service
  • Charlotte Houser: Hodge-Worthington-Baker-Donelson Leadership Award for a student who does not hold a prominent leadership but who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership
  • Lauren Baxter: Stanuszek Law Group, PLLC Award for strong interest in private practice

Recent Alumni

  • Hilary Magacs and Rebecca Ledesma: Charles H. Miller Civil Advocacy Award for outstanding achievement in advocacy
  • Wesley Love: James L. Powers Award for excellence in criminal advocacy
  • Kevin Morris: Jerry P. Black, Jr. Student Clinic Attorney Award
  • Caitlyn Sun: Transactional Clinic Student Attorney Award


  • Joy Radice: Marilyn V. Yarbrough Faculty Award for Writing Excellence
  • Robert Blitt: W. Allen Separk Faculty Scholarship Award for outstanding body of work in any area of legal research
  • Greg Stein: Carden Outstanding Faculty Award for scholarship
  • Eric Amarante: Carden Outstanding Faculty Award for service; and the Wilkinson Research Professor for 2019
  • Zack Buck: Harold Warner Outstanding Teacher Award
  • Joan Heminway: Tom and Elizabeth Fox Faculty Award for outstanding service to the bench and bar
  • Jana Dovgan: College of Law Outstanding Adjunct Teacher Award

College of Law Professional Staff

  • Teresa Peterson honored for extraordinary service

College of Law Support Staff

  • Amy Phillips and Carolyn Dossett honored for extraordinary service

College of Law Library Staff

  • Ashley Cate honored for extraordinary service