Professor Michael Higdon receives 2017 Harold Warner Outstanding Teacher Award

UT Law Celebrates Honors and Excellence Award Winners

UT Law recently hosted its annual Honors Banquet, where outstanding students, faculty, and staff received much deserved recognition for their hard work and dedication at the College of Law.

Knoxville Auxiliary to the Tennessee Law Association Award: Alexandrea Hull, $250, and Wesley Love, $25o

Herbert L. Davis Memorial Trust Fund Award for academic progress during 2nd year of study: Rebecca Ledesma, $250, and Caitlin Lewis, $250

Herbert L. Davis Memorial Trust Fund Award for highest GPA during 2nd year of study: Spenser Powell, $250

Merchant and Gould Excellence in Intellectual Property Award: Grant Davis, $500

Harshfield Award for Excellence in Civil Procedure: Bo Cook, $500

Cunningham Legal Research Award: Kathryn Waddell, $150

Cunningham First-year Best Brief Award: Alan Groves, $1,000

Cunningham Excellence in Legal Writing Award: Katie Smalley, $5,000

Charles H. Miller Excellence in Civil Advocacy Award: Alexandra Wolff, $200

James L. Powers III Excellence in Criminal Advocacy Award: Casey Elliot, $200

Transactional Clinic Student Attorney Award: Michael Ransom, $200

Jerry P. Black, Jr. Student Clinic Attorney Award: Tom Smith, $200

Tennessee Attorney General’s Trial Advocacy Award: Jill Irvin

International Academy of Trial Lawyers Trial Advocacy Award: Ronald Coleman

Robert E. Pryor Award of Excellence in Advocacy: Melissa Joy Baxter, $500

Class of 2004 Concentration in Business Transactions Award: David Venturella, $500

National Association of Women Lawyers Award: Tabitha Johnson

Susan B. Anthony Award: Leah Fitzgerald, $1,000

Baker, Donelson Student Leadership Award: Christine Ball-Blakely, $500

Frank Benson Creekmore Memorial Award: Joseph Smith

William M. Leech, Jr. Public Service Prize: Garett Ward, $625, and David Samples, $625

Staff Awards for Extraordinary Service, Support Staff: Library, Beth Offshack, $1,500, College, Rynn Dupes and Jenny Lackey, $1,500

Staff Awards for Extraordinary Service, Professional Staff Award: Micki Fox, $1,500

Marilyn V. Yarbrough Faculty Award for Writing Excellence: Zack Buck, $2,000

W. Allen Separk Faculty Scholarship Award: Maurice Stucke, $2,000

Wilkinson Junior Research Professorship: Zack Buck, $2,000

Carden Outstanding Faculty Awards. Scholarship: Michael Higdon, $1,500

Carden Outstanding Faculty Awards, Service: Paula Schaefer, $1,500, Brian Krumm, $1,500

Bass, Berry and Sims Faculty Award: Penny White, $2,000

College of Law Outstanding Adjuct Teacher Award: Mark Stephens, $1,000

Harold Warner Outstanding Teacher Award: Michael Higdon, $2,000