The value of your legal education at the University of Tennessee College of Law compares very favorably with that available at other state-supported and private institutions. University tuition and fees are determined by the Board of Trustees and are subject to change each year. The costs for the 2013–2014 academic year (fall and spring semesters) are as follows:
- For Tennessee Resident Students $18,962
- For Out-Of-State Students $37,706
The Financial Aid Budgets for the 2013-2014 academic year for a student living on or off campus are outlined below to give you an idea of the total cost of attending the University of Tennessee College of Law.
|Room & Board||12,008||12,008|
Programs and Services Fee
Students registered for classes at UTK must pay the Programs and Services Fee. The fee is used to pay for costs related to several UTK facilities such as the Aquatics Center, Student Health Service, and the University Center as well as student activities, publications, and the Student Government Association. The fee is assessed in two parts, the Programs and Services Fee – Primary ($31/hr to a maximum of $275.) and the Programs and Services Fee – Health ($97). A student is classified as having paid the full Programs and Service Fee upon a combined payment of $372. On the first official day of classes and beyond, the Program and Services Fee becomes a non-refundable fee. Questions should be addressed to the Dean of Students Office.
Programs and Services Fee – Primary
Students registered for classes at UTK must pay the Programs and Services Fee – Primary portion of $31 per hour (maximum $275.) Students may not purchase student athletic tickets unless they have paid the maximum. Students enrolled for fewer than 9 semester hours but with a minimum of 6 hours, may elect to add the difference between the amount of the fee they have already paid and $275. On the first official day of classes and beyond, the Program and Services Fee becomes a non-refundable fee. Questions should be addressed to the Dean of Students Office.
Programs and Service Fee – Health
Students registered for 9 or more hours at UTK must pay the Programs and Services Fee – Health portion of $97. Students enrolled for fewer than 9 semester hours but with a minimum of 3 hours, may elect to add the $97. Use of the Student Health Center is limited to students who have paid this portion of the Programs and Services Fee. Students may not purchase student athletic tickets unless they have paid this portion of the Programs and Services Fee. On the first official day of classes and beyond, the Programs and Services Fee becomes a non-refundable fee. Questions should be addressed to the Dean of Students Office.
Each semester a $12 per credit hour ($100 maximum) Technology Fee is assessed to every student. Revenues will provide improved technical resources and services and will be administered by the Office of Information Technology (OIT). Questions may be addressed to the Website http://web.utk.edu/~techfee. Email may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Facilities Fee is a mandatory fee assessed to all students enrolled in credit and audit courses. The fee will be used to provide students with upgraded classroom facilities, expand information technology into the classroom, and fund campus infrastructure improvements. These revenues will be targeted to assist in funding a backlog of campus and classroom projects that will enhance the University’s facilities. Beginning Fall 2012 the fee is $160 per semester for full-time, in-state students and $310 per semester for full-time, out-of-state students. The fee will be pro-rated for part-time students.
Law Enhancement Fee
Designed to improve their educational and overall experience, all students enrolled in the College of Law are assessed an additional per semester (fall and spring) charge of $625. This fee is used, in part, to enable the College to help cover some of the expenses students incurred in attending conferences and job fairs; to allow the College to increase its recruitment efforts; and to provide more adequate funding for student organizations.
Law Library Fee
Each semester a $125 Law Library Fee is assessed, beginning with the class of 2016. Proceeds will supplement the budget for the purchase of relevant databases, other research services such as Westlaw and LexisNexis, and books not available digitally. The revenue also will be used to support changes in services and infrastructure in the Law Library as needed to support new ways that legal information is being incorporated and used in legal education.
Students registered for credit and audit courses must pay a Transportation Fee of $5 per hour ($60 maximum). This fee is used to provide students with a convenient method of movement around campus and will subsidize the costs associated with the University’s comprehensive campus transit system.
Income Protection Allowance retains cost for housing for students living with parent, no additional cost for room.