Scholarships and Scholarship Retention Data

UT College of Law Scholarships

The College of Law offers a number of scholarships, and many are awarded to admitted candidates during the admissions process. Candidates for admission are automatically considered for all scholarships for which they are eligible.

Scholarships may be based on a number of factors: academic credentials (LSAT score and UGPA), records of leadership and community service, or other factors as established by the scholarship donor.

Financial need, as established by the University after the FAFSA process is complete, is a primary criterion for some scholarships. Candidates for admission should complete the FAFSA process as soon as possible after the first of a year in order to be considered for scholarships in which financial need is a factor.

Scholarship Retention.  Most College of Law scholarships are awarded as three year awards and are clearly identified as such at the time of the award. Scholarship recipients must remain enrolled and in good academic standing, but there is no minimum law GPA requirement above “good standing” to retain the scholarship.

Single year scholarships awarded during the second or third year are not renewable and therefore are not subject to academic standards for renewal.

In compliance with ABA Standard 509, this table details the College of Law’s scholarship retention data for currently enrolled students.

Year of Matriculation # Students Entering with Conditional Scholarships # Whose Conditional Scholarships Have Since Been Reduced or Eliminated
2012 0 0
2011 0 0
2010 0 0

The following scholarships are available to College of Law students; not all listed scholarships are allocated to first-year students.

FastWEB Scholarship Service 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT Law.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System